Configure 802.11 on build system

Hello all,
I am building the firmware from the source. I dont want to use image builder.
I followed this guide https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-developer/quickstart-build-images

I have added my custom config files /files/etc/config/wireless and /files/etc/config/network
How should i write the configuration inside these files?

For example i know the configuration of mesh. should I just add the below content inside
/files/etc/config/wireless file or do i have to follow some other format.

config wifi-iface 'mesh'
        option device 'radio0'
        option mode 'mesh'
        option mesh_id 'RTLS'
        option encryption 'none'
        option mesh_fwding '1'
        option ifname 'mesh0'
        option mesh_rssi_threshold '0

Also I have to add packages like wpad-mesh-openssl and remove wpad-mini,wpad-basic. How do I do that ?
I could not find options on make menuconfig to remove or add packages.

I am very new to this field. sorry if my doubts sounds silly.

Please help. Thanks in advance.

Did you read the help at the top of the menuconfig screen? "Y" includes packages (those have a "*" next to them), "N" excludes, "M" should build it as a package but you would have to install it as a separate step. wpad-* packages are in the Network section.

1 Like

I've already answered your question in the thread you started two days ago

Why not? Most of the time, you don't need to rebuild everything from source, but can use the pre-built sources - and the ImageBuilder can even build packages for you if needed (e.g. you include a repo of 3rd party packages that are source only).

You shouldn't. Those files will overwrite the defaults, which can cause a number of issues with your final image. You can quite possibly remove sections due to an unforeseen override that are crucial for WiFi/networking.