Config USB HDD as NAS on Clearfog Pro A1 LEDE

Hello all,

I'm a complete newbie so please take it easy on me :slight_smile:

A friend did the setup on my Clearfog Pro A1 running LEDE, and it has been running perfectly for the past year. I'm itching to upgrade the setup with an external USB 3.0 HDD as a NAS device for my home network, maybe even PLEX storage for the TV...

Could someone help with instructions on how to set this up? (I use Win10 on my home PCs, I have some Linux VMs, and a networked Samsung Smart TV).

Thank you,
Matt

@thumper, welcome to the community!

See: https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/storage/usb-installing

Thank you. But sadly as I mentioned before - I am a COMPLETE newbie.

Where am I supposed to enter the commands in the link you sent? How/where do I open a terminal? (I am accessing the router from within my browser 192.168.1.1)

Thanx :slight_smile:

It seems you'll need to learn how to access the command line of the device.

BTW, you can install any of the packages via the web GUI under: System > Software.

OK that helped. I managed to SHH via Win10 powershell and started following the guide you originally linked to.

Its (sadly) throwing errors. Here is a copy-paste from my terminal
(I had to break up the URLs because the forum isnt allowing me to post links)

1234@LEDE:~# opkg update
Downloading h t t p : / / downloads.lede-project. org/snapshots/targets/mvebu/generic/packages/Packages.gz
*** Failed to download the package list from h t t p : / / downloads.lede-project. org/snapshots/targets/mvebu/generic/packages/Packages.gz

Downloading h t t p : / / downloads.lede-project. org/snapshots/packages/arm_cortex-a9_vfpv3/base/Packages.gz
Updated list of available packages in /var/opkg-lists/reboot_base
Downloading h t t p : / / downloads.lede-project. org/snapshots/packages/arm_cortex-a9_vfpv3/base/Packages.sig
Signature check passed.