Complete noob question about 2 routers and maybe subnet or VLAN

Hi, please excuse my ignorance. I don't know anything about networks and want to learn.

I have two routers, one from my ISP that I have to use because it includes the modem, and one with OpenWRT freshly installed with the default configuration.

If I plug the WAN port of the OpenWRT router into the LAN port of the ISP router, and then connect devices to wifi on the OpenWRT router, will the ISP router be able to see MAC addresses or other info about which devices are connected to the OpenWRT router?

If the answer is yes, what do I need to do in order to make it so the ISP router doesn't know anything about which devices are connected?

I think maybe the OpenWRT router needs to create a subnet or a VLAN, but as I said, I don't know anything about networks, so I have only a vague idea of what those are. I hope someone can point me in the right direction. Thanks!

In the default configuration, OpenWrt will NAT or masquerade all the LAN devices to look like one user on the WAN port. The ISP router will only see one MAC address and one IP address, the one belonging to the OpenWrt router.

The ISP can of course see the places on the Internet that your devices are connecting to, which does reveal quite a bit about the nature of the devices. If this is a problem you can use a VPN service.

2 Likes

Also there is no nat for ipv6 in which case the ISP will see the IPv6 addresses in use on your LAN

3 Likes

Moreover, packets from devices behind the OpenWrt router will have a TTL one unit lower, and your ISP will be able to know its existence.

TTL can be manipulated to cover any traces of other devices in the lan.

1 Like

Thanks! It sounds like the default configuration of OpenWrt already does what I want.

But here's what confuses me and makes me think this is not true: