Clarification Regarding TP-Link Archer C20 V4

Hi,

Being a total beginner to OpenWRT, I wanted to install such software so that I can attempt to improve the bufferbloating that is apparent in my connection; I've repeatedly, much to my frustration, attempted to install it via Windows through tftpd64.

I have put the tp_recovery.bin file in the proper area, configured the router to use the 192.168.0.66 standard, and attempted to access U-boot (with success, as the power button blinked) but the .bin file does not register in tftpd64 and the installation does not occur. Consequently, I have tried to install it via Linux, but I got too confused with the instructions: specifically, what command to enter after confirming that tp_recovery.bin has been successfully retrieved

Additionally, does v.19.07.3 allow for the 5 GHz band to be enabled? I've noticed that previous posts indicate that it's disabled.

See https://openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tp-link_archer_c20_v4#using_tftp_method

I can't spot a command to be entered.

Hi,

Yeah, there is no indication that a command should be entered; however, based on the generic instructions to flash the file via TFTP on Linux, I have to connect it first and ping the IP address with the file. Then I set the router to bootloader so that tp_recovery gets downloaded.

Additionally, 5 GHz is still disabled as of 19.07.3?

Thanks for your help!

5GHz works out of the box in the 19.07.x versions. I think it was enabled by this commit I have no problems even with wpa3 enabled.

Hey,

May I ask how you did the installation of OpenWRT via Linux? I'm just genuinely confused with the instructions stated in the guide.

I don't know the exact process for your device as I have a similar "Archer C20i", which has the same 5GHz chip.
When I switched to openwrt, I flashed it from windows using this tftp server. On linux you should install the full dnsmasq package, and enable the tftp server there. Something like this.