Cheapest way to connect USB printer

Hi, I am new.

I got hold of a Zyxel WSM20 for a few Euros and managed to install OpenWrt on it. Now I am curious what the cheapest way of connecting my USB printer would be.

The Zyxel doesn't have a USB port, only ethernet. There are cheap USB/LAN adapters on Amazon, do they work? Or do I need a printer server (>40€)? And has anyone tried a Raspberry Pi?

Curious to hear possible solutions. I am not an expert but always ready to learn and experiment. :slight_smile:

If you can get a cheap OpenWrt supported router with a USB port, you can install P910nd which is a very basic type of print server. I've done exactly this with a TP-Link TL-MR3020v1 device (note: it's running a very old and unsupported version of OpenWrt because that device only has 4MB flash memory and 32MB RAM).
A Pi could do it, too.

or a Seagate Dockstar or Pogoplug.

1 Like

Thanks. P910nd - noted!

I don't want to get a new device, since I have a Zyxel WSM20 already (an AX device) but perhaps a PI could be a cheap solution...

The WSM20 doesn't have any USB port anyway ?

The ones I suggest can sometimes be found on ebay, for a low price.

1 Like

Depends on your local used market. An old Pi (such as a Pi 2 or 3) may be cheap, but a 4 may or may not be cheap in comparison to an older wifi router with a USB port... for example, I looked up a Linksys E3000 (I have one lying around, figured it'd be a good 'sanity check' for cheap devices)... on Craigslist there was one for $10. Although it has many limitations, it would be a fine candidate for a P910nd based 'adapter.'
You might start by doing a search on the used market in your area for "wireless routers" and then cross reference against the Table of Hardware for general OpenWrt support and a USB port.

What would be a good price for a used Pi 2?