Change Passwort - Read-only file system

Hello!

I am a total Newbie to OpenWRT and Linux - so don't be to harsh with me :slight_smile:

I got for testing my LTE connection a Espressobin+EM7675 with OpenWRT installed.

Works as a charm - but i want to change my root password.

Within the GUI it is not possible - getting an Error that it can't be changed.
When i connect with ssl to the box and i try to change it with passwd - i am getting the following error message:
passwd: /etc/passwd: Read-only file system
passwd: can't update password file /etc/passwd

What can i do to change the password to sg stronger?

thanks!!

Hi,
I have a feeling this is a filesystem issue.
The filesystem stays read-only when it doesn't initialise properly.
You should be able to see that by running the df command (post the output here so we get a better idea).

Things to try in order:

• reset (which will force a filesystem rebuild on first boot)
  • flash again
  • make sure you're flashing the correct firmware file.

If this didn't help, post the output of the df command and let us know which firmware file you're flashing.
Hope that helps!

Here is the df Output.

root@Espresso:~# df
Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/root               258016     36324    216452  14% /
tmpfs                   511424       720    510704   0% /tmp
tmpfs                      512         0       512   0% /dev
root@Espresso:~#

The thing with new flashing is, that i don't have the image anymore (as it was from another User) and it was as far as i knew "custom build" as at the time there was no EspressoBin + EM7675 Openwrt Image availabe....

And as i am new, i am not 100% sure if there is an image i can savely use to rebuild it so that it is working :slight_smile:
But this is what currently is installed:

1 Like

There is stable version for Espressobin. You don't need to use the snapshot, which is nightly built.