Central configuration of OpenWrt

I am new to OpenWrt and I´m building my network solely based on OpenWrt. My current network is based on Ubiquities Unifi devices, but I don´t like proprietary devices and I think Ubiquities software have limited functionality and they ditch support for old devices.
My new network is based on PCEngines APU2 as router, Zyxel NWA50AX as APs and Zyxel GS1900-series as switches. The switches I have not upgraded to OpenWrt yet but I will when OpenWrt-firmware has matured or have more time.
As for now, I have four devices (1 router, 3 APs) where they all have OpenWrt, all APs are dumb APs with exactly the same configuration, there is many devices to log into and manage, and there will be more.
One thing i like with Unifi, why I invested in it, was that they had one UI for all configuration and stats. Is there something similar for OpenWrt, where you can configure and adopt all your OpenWrt devices? Or even better, is there some plugin you can install and only configure all OpenWrt devices via yml-files with ArgoCD, GitLab etc?

1 Like

Welcome to OpenWrt and the community!

Neither do we. :slight_smile:

That's a fantastic idea. It would be great to tell the main router "dist out an access point config to these other devices". In time we may get closer to something like that, but that's not today.

Ubiquiti controls every aspect, hardware and software, of their offerings. OpenWrt works on a very wide range of other people's hardware, and it would be difficult to have the main router dist out configs for the satellite devices when those satellite devices could be almost anything with any kind of hardware. There is a sort of configuration abstraction layer with /etc/config/*, but there are still a lot of components of that which are too hardware-specific to be able to do what you suggest. And also too many things which, even now, are still configured with straight config files elsewhere in /etc.