Can't get to Internet from Internal Router

Hi Folks,

I should start out by saying I am completely new to openWRT having just purchased a Plusnet Hub One with openWRT already installed on it (it is Version 19.07.7 r11306-c4a6851c72).

So my setup is the following:

Plusnet Hub One Original (Router 1 - Connected to Internet via DSL) - DHCP Using 172.16.0.x Range
Plusnet Hub One openWRT Installed (Router 2 - Connected to Router 1 via WAN and DHCP) - DHCP Using 192.168.1.x Range

What I am trying to achieve is an Internal Firewall protecting my Home PC so if someone was to break through to Router 1 they would have to also get through Router 2 before being able to get to my PC.

I'm am however unable to get Internet access on the device I have connected to Router 2

I can see Router 2 is connected to Router 1 as it is assigned an IP Address of 172.16.0.86 (this correlates between Luci Summary and Router 1 Devices Screen).

Only changes (from Installed Configuration) I've made are:

Deleted IPv6 Alias for WAN
Changed WAN Interface to DHCP Client Protocol (to connect to Router 1 and get IP Address).
Changed WAN Interface (in Physical Settings) from DSL0 to ETH0.

I know I must be missing something simple but don't know if it is DNS, Firewall or some other problem I've created with changes I've made.

I can post Configs from SSH or Screenshots from LuCI Web Console if either of those would help?

Many Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Dave.

https://openwrt.ebilan.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=266

Does provide a step-by-step guide for configuring the BTHH5a, including what you're looking for (hint, take the opportunity to upgrade to 21.02.0 first and start with a clean slate, as that will save you time and effort in the long run).

As far as I understand, you want to connect two routers according to the LAN -> WAN principle?

please attach a screenshot with the interface settings from LuCI or data from the /etс/config/network file