Can't connect to router

I found and old WRT3600 in the basement and I think I once installed OpenWRT/Lede on it. I cannot connect to it anymore, so I go into failsafe mode. According to the flashing light, it seems to work. However, I cannot find the router at 192.168.1.1. An nmap scan of the entire 192.168.1.0/24 range yields nothing. Same with 192.168.0.0/24.

Any idea what could be done?

nmap 192.168.0.0/16 :smiley:

Alternately, try 192.168.7.0/24 (I have a vague recollection of that subnet being used at some point.

Another option might be to run tcpdump / Wireshark on a device connected directly to the router. See if the router spits out anything recognisable by the listener.

2 Likes

nmap 192.168.0.0/16 :smiley:

I did that, but if found nothing, so that excludes 192.168.7.0/24 too.

tcpdump / Wireshark

I have no experience with those, so I'm probably out at this point.

Did you also give your computer's network interface a /16 subnet mask before scanning? If you try to scan the /16 address space from a client in a /24 address space, it'll try to send most of the scanning traffic via a router, which may not be helpful here.

Good opportunity to learn. You'll be trying to identify if there's anything coming from a device which isn't currently being used, so there's little risk of breaking anything in the process.

could also try assigning an IP to it (in your subnet) on your computer using arp.

1 Like

Did you also give your computer's network interface a /16 subnet mask before scanning?

Yeah, I did that. No luck.

Good opportunity to learn. You'll be trying to identify if there's anything coming from a device which isn't currently being used, so there's little risk of breaking anything in the process.

Alright, I just looked at tcpdump's output, and the only suspicious thing I could find is

14:58:14.232986 IP 10.230.47.194.698 > 255.255.255.255.698: OLSRv4, seq 0x4415, length 20

I can't ping 10.230.47.194 though. Any idea what to with this?