Cannot get IP addresses on LAN interface

HI there,

Total Noob to LEDE I'm afraid, so apologies if this is a dumb question!

I bought a BT HomeHub 5 running LEDE Reboot 17.01.4 r3560-79f57e422d with LuCI from ebay a few days back to replace the terrible Vodafone Connect that was sent by my ISP. I have been surfing these forums and learning a lot since then but unfortunately I haven't been able to find an answer to my problem (maybe I am just not wording it correctly!).

My home network is:
LEDE router connected directly to BT openreach socket.
Normally 6-8 devices connected via wifi including laptop, phones and 2 chromecasts
1 Homeplug connected to router LAN socket
3 other Homeplugs connected through the house, including 1 connected to an Xbox One and another with a wifi device providing a second network upstairs.

The WAN interface, I've used different DNS servers than the ISPs ones, but left everything else as default, and that seems to be working fine.

On the LAN side of things I am having problems getting all of my devices to connect. They might be the same probelm or they might be different, so hopefully one of your Pros will be able to advise on that!

1. Some devices are able to connect via wifi (laptop and 1 phone), but others can't obtain an IP address. After lots of googling and forum searching I now understand that IP address allocation are the job of the DHCP server, but I haven't found any posts that suggest that my network should need anything other than the default DHCP settings. Sometimes all of the devices can connect and work fine, but then a few hours later none of them can, without me having changed any settings.

2. It doesn't seem to be working at all with the homeplug part of the network. Nothing that is connected to any of the remote homeplugs can get any connection, whether on wifi or ethernet.