Can i use ac88u firmware on ac3100 asus

Hi guys, im new and bought a used router because im broke. im on a competitive gaming team and my stock router would constantly seem like bullet registration would randomly be weak, and recently started getting lots of games of teleporting. says no packet loss on router when i run test. but starting to think it was router not my internet. I picked up a ac3100 asus and have been reading about SQM and sounds awesome. so i dont see ac3100 support in openwrt>? so can i use the ac88u firmware on my ac3100? if so does that even have SQM where i can make the packets send and time properly? i know im a noob but your help would be greatly appreciated and im a good friend to have

No you shouldn't, unless you know it's exactly the same device.
Since it's a Broadcom device, wifi will be crippled using openwrt.

Try https://www.asuswrt-merlin.net/ instead.

Hi thanks for the replay well everyone keeps saying the ac3100 is the actual same machine as the ac88u dd-wrt even has then listed side by side in the file for firmware ? So that’s why I’m really needing help trying to find out it 1. Does any firmware exist on ac3100 or ac88u that can have the SQM feature ?? And if so can I just use the ac88u firmware from openwrt? Because they don’t have a firmware listed for ac3100 possibly because im supposed to just know to use the ac88u ?

Seems it's been tested, at least once, and works ... read OpenWrt Support for Asus RT-AC88U - #197 by mitnworb and onward, there might be more info further down.

I had it running and it seemed to run fine, but I was getting strangely slow speed tests as compared to dd-wrt. I went back to to dd-wrt until I have some more time to work on it. If you install it and get it working it I'd love to hear your results.