Built OpenWrt with Linaro GCC (ARM)

I've working in a custom build of OpenWrt for my router, which runs in a Qualcomm IPQ4018 CPU (Quad core, Cortex A7). I've successfully built and tested (in a long run, more than 30 days and counting without a crash) the whole OpenWrt (from the kernel to all packages) using the Linaro 7.4.1 toolchain.

I have no problems either with the development nor with the running image, but my question is: is it worth? Would OpenWrt want to merge my changes for building OpenWrt with Linaro GCC?

Is the resulting kernel and/or root file system notably smaller?

Are there measurable, significant changes in performance? (For me, that means 10% or more.)

Welcome back

2 Likes

Disclaimer: I'm not an OpenWrt developer and can't speak for them.

Considering that OpenWrt is built for many different architectures, including ones that are not in Linaro's focus (e.g. mips, powerpc, etc.), it would need a very compelling reason to switch (as doing so would not just double, but multiply the maintenance efforts).

--
OpenWrt has used the Linaro toolchain in the past, but switched back to the normal GNU toolchain some time ago - which probably has its ${reasons}.

I didn’t ever mentioned a switch. OpenWrt will always build using the official GNU toolchain, just like Android.
I am suggesting about a patch for building OpenWrt with Linaro, not a patch to replace GNU with Linaro.
Some developers (such as Linksys, as I reversed engendered their firmware) use Linaro under production and having the option to do so can be good for several reasons, for example, getting the benefits of the custom Linaro toolchain for Linux (according to them, a reasonable performance boost, smaller code, energy efficiency and so on).