Building OpenWrt on the Apple M1

Hi there! Thanks for providing OpenWrt!

I'm completely new to OpenWrt development but I'm keen to develop Rust-based applications that target the Onion Omega2 devices. I'm not particularly interested in building OpenWrt images at this stage; just applications.

I'm having difficulties setting up the OpenWrt development environment on my Apple M1 Max. I realise this development platform is unsupported, but I'm wondering what it'd take to get the toolchain built at least.

Upon having invoked make menuconfig and configuring my target, I'm then met with the following when attempting to then make:

time: tools/xz/compile#0.07#0.09#0.20
    ERROR: tools/xz failed to build.
make[2]: *** [tools/Makefile:159: tools/xz/compile] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory '/Volumes/OpenWrt/openwrt'
make[1]: *** [tools/Makefile:155: /Volumes/OpenWrt/openwrt/staging_dir/host/stamp/.tools_compile_yyynyynnyyyynyyyyyynyynnyyyynyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyynynnyyyyyyy] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory '/Volumes/OpenWrt/openwrt'
make: *** [/Volumes/OpenWrt/openwrt/include/toplevel.mk:230: toolchain/install] Error 2

Am I doomed? Thanks. :slight_smile:

rust-lang isn't supported. It may never be officially supported; I'm still working on it.

rust-lang requires LLVM support, and it was just added (https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=LLVM-Clang-march-native-M1). I'm not sure what hoops need to be jumped through to support a rust-lang HOST tuple, but I do support mipsel-openwrt-linux-musl TARGET tuples on x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu Hosts.

To build out the rust-lang toolchain, you'd have to be willing to build from source, creating your own packages (although that's simplified these days). If you're willing to do the testing (I don't have an M1 platform) I can take a look after I settle out the x86_64 hosts and the target tuples.