Bug? IPv6 Negative Netmask

I use the negative netmask notation on my IPv6 firewall rules to allow for prefix changes. It works fine for addresses such as:

1::1234/-48

Both luci and a firewall restart process fail to accept an address like:

1:208:9bff:feda:1234/-48

Bug?

This does not look like a valid IPv6 address to me (but I am not an expert). I would expect either 8 full stanzas or a double colon ellipsis, no?

2 Likes

It's documented here:

It says:

The negative netmask notation /-64 works only with OpenWrt firewall, equivalent for /::ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff .

1 Like

Oh, the negative netmask is a fine OpenWrt-ism, my concerns are about the initial IPv6 address in his non working example...

1:208:9bff:feda:1234

I thought you either need to specify all 8 groups or use ::to show where 'contractions' should be, the example had only 5 groups and no ::, which to me looks incorrect, but I do not claim to have mastered IPv6....

1 Like

The quoted address would be invalid. Although I'm surprised the OP had any success with 1::1234/-48, unless that was a typo and should have been ::1234/-48 .

1 Like

No it is not a typo and works perfectly. It gets translated to:

ip6 daddr & ::ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff == 1::1234 tcp dport 22 counter packets 0 bytes 0 jump accept_to_lan comment "!fw4: ssh"

Do not assume that everyone is using a /64 prefix. I am using /48.

I wasn't. However, as far as I understand it, 1::1234 is equivalent to 0001:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:1234 which falls within reserved address space. I'm not surprised that you could add it to the firewall (as I doubt it's been programmed to verify against allocated address space), but I am surprised there's any routable traffic that would match the rule.

I think this expands to:
0001:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:1234