Brother HL 2270DW Printer and AP-STA-POSSIBLE-PSK-MISMATC

Hi all,

I am new to OpenWRT but really enjoying it so far.

My Apple Airport Extreme died last week, and I've had a TP-Link Archer C59 v2 sitting around with OpenWRT installed on it for years waiting for such an occasion, so I got it set up.

So far, I'm loving it. The configuration is incomparably better.

I am having one problem -- my printer, which has worked fine via WiFi for years, won't maintain a connection.

The printer is a Brother HL 2270DW. It's connecting to my 2.4 WPA2 network via WPS, which I got set up after a little Googling (and only leave enabled for the duration of establishing a connection -- unfortunately I have no other way to establish the connection).

After the connection is established, the printer prints a page confirming the connection details, and then it successfully prints anything in the print queue, and soon thereafter loses its connection and cannot reestablish. If I go through the WPS setup again, it connects and we go through the same cycle.

It is sitting about 4 feet away from the router / AP, so it shouldn't be a signal strength issue.

I've tried a bunch of combinations of WPA2 -> WPA, legacy mode, legacy rates to see if it was a problem there, but the behavior stays the same (and I would think that these issues should prevent a connection from establishing at all, and since it is able to connect and print documents that seems less likely).

I've done a factory reset on the router to see if having the old AP stored was a problem (the new AP uses the same SSID and passphrase for now). No difference.

When I ssh in, logread -f shows me a continuous scroll of the following (with the printer's MAC address redacted).

Tue Oct 26 17:05:10 2021 daemon.info hostapd: wlan1: STA REDACTED IEEE 802.11: authenticated
Tue Oct 26 17:05:10 2021 daemon.info hostapd: wlan1: STA REDACTED IEEE 802.11: associated (aid 9)