Best practice for requesting build for new hardware?

I see lots of request go by on the forum from people who say, basically:

I got this (old) router for US$12 from a friend/yard sale/junk bin. I don't see it listed as supported. Could someone help me get LEDE running on it?

The requester may not realize it, but it feels to me as if they're saying:

I wasted twelve bucks, but maybe someone on the list would be willing to spend one or 25 hours to help me get some value from this device.

Even though I'm not a developer (and have no desire to become one - I was one in another life), these requests feel a bit offensive to me. This is especially true when so many people are focusing their effort toward pushing out a stable release of LEDE that's going to benefit everyone.

So I put it to the list:

• Are these kinds of requests welcomed? Discouraged?
  • Is there any consensus about how to respond to these requests?
  • I have seen one developer who (sort of) makes a standing offer, "Send me a router and I'll take my best effort." Is that a reasonable response?

I don't particularly care one way or the other about the answers to this question, but I'm curious to what the group (the people who would do the work) thinks. Thanks.

I wasted twelve bucks, but maybe someone on the list would be willing to spend one or 25 hours to help me get some value from this device.

Yeah, wait till you work in techsupport and see how everyone in a few miles radius comes to you to get their faulty devices resurrected by your divine grace or something. Lol that's normal.

I have seen one developer who (sort of) makes a standing offer, "Send me a router and I'll take my best effort." Is that a reasonable response?

That's what DD-WRT guys do usually so this practice is well-known.