Basic misconception of how to use the ports

My question might very probably sound silly, but I'm asking nevertheless because some things are not working as I think they should do and I want to clarify at least basic concepts of OpenWrt.

I guess I've been under the misconception of how to use the ports. I'm running OpenWrt on a Linksys MR8300. Its 5 ports are labeled from left to right: Ethernet 1 to 4 and Internet. I always was of the opinion that the modem goes into the WAN port labeled Ethernet and everything else can go into any other port. Isn't that true?

Network > Interfaces shows LAN, WAN and WAN6. I added another Interface for WIRELESS. Devices are br-lan, eth0 and eth1.

What's then the matter about eth0 beeing the hard wired connection from CPU to the internal switch? Is there a "special" port to access the device only for management tasks? Is it maybe something you can and should configure seperately?

I'm no expert, but to put is simply. For the MR8300, similar to EA8300, eth1 is the physical WAN port. eth0 represents the LAN ports, by openwrt default.

br-lan is used to make multiple virtual or physical network interfaces act as if they were just one network interface. In your case the 4 ports and wifi are part of br-lan by 'default'. ie. the 'LAN'.

Someone will correct me if I'm wrong.

You may notice there is no WAN port in the LuCI switch menu of 21.02 for your MR8300. Perhaps that's why you are getting confused?

There are strange switch issues with IPQ40xx devices.
https://forum.openwrt.org/t/ipq40xx-switch-config-strangeness/32542

I have a IPQ4018 EA6350v3 as a openwrt vpn router. I have the ethernet port functions reversed. ie. the 4x labelled LAN ports are my WAN port and the labelled WAN is my LAN port.

update: I had eth0 and eth1 functions reversed. Now corrected
update 2: I was right the first time. wan is eth1.

1 Like