Assistance sharing Wireguard traffic with other routers (separate from LAN/WAN traffic)

My Setup:

Main Router:

• Raspberry Pi 5 running pretty much the latest SNAPSHOT build
  • Configured with PPPOE for internet access
  • Wireguard Tunnel set up (and working)

3 Other routers currently running DD-WRT:

• Used as Access points for WIFI
  • All Hardwired to each other (and the RPi)

Task:

• Create separate SSID on DD-WRT routers for Wireguard tunnel.
  • Separate SSIDs for normal LAN/WAN traffic
  • All LAN ports on DD-WRT routers to serve normal LAN/WAN traffic

I am pretty new to OpenWrt, so still learning, but from my understanding I need to go down the VLAN route? (I've never used VLANs before)

I have tried finding tutorials/videos/blogs with similar use cases but not had much luck.

Can somebody please give me some pointers as to how to best achieve this?

Thanks in advance. :slight_smile:

If you want to have some of the SSIDS from your access points to use the WG tunnel and others not than vlans are a viable option.

1 Like

Yes, you will need VLANs. And you will also need Policy Based Routing to handle the give you the ability to define which VLAN goes via the WAN vs which goes via the VPN.

The rest of this will be questions for the DD-WRT forums... the firmware is very different and it isn't supported here. We can, however, help you get your Pi configured appropriately so that you can move to the next steps with DD-WRT (although it will be difficult to prove the functionality until the DD-WRT side is ready, too... a bit of a chicken or egg).

Alternatively, if your routers that are running DD-WRT are supported by OpenWrt, you could install OpenWrt instead and we can help you with them.

1 Like

Unfortunately the other routers have a broadcom chip, so I dont think moving to OpenWrt on them is the best way forward. I appreciate this forum will not provide any support for DD-WRT. :slight_smile: