Askey RAC2V1K / RT4230W REV6 Support

I just had an Askey RAC2V1K installed via Spectrum in Southern California. If anyone is interested in collaborating on adding support for it via it's IPQ8065 I am interested in working together on it.

I got root on it which was fairly easy to do. I can contribute dumps or .config or whatever needed.

3 Likes

Just checked out the specs.
Looks really good,similar to R7800.
But even better,triple the flash and double the RAM.

I have not yet worked on IPQ806X series,only IPQ40XX but the difference should not be so big.

i just got it installed, how did you get root on it? is there a tutorial? im interested.

2 Likes

Same here. Been trying to figure out how to get into the root menu for configuring it as an AP. A relative noob here.

Default password in the manual I found online doesnt seem to work on Spectrum devices.
root / MmvGB^RY3#

Factory Manual (mentions root login and AP mode)

Spectrum Manual (many sections removed, no AP mode, no mention of root)

I encountered a setup where a business had several of them installed, I think they had more than 1 gigabit connection. They had moved them out into the building as access points, but unbeknownst to them the devices were all in router mode, so they ended up with a segmented network. I called Spectrum and told them what was going on, they couldnt access the devices because they were behind the customers router.. plus.. they claimed no knowledge that they could be put into access point mode, that they didnt know about a "root" account, that the manual talks about, and that they werent aware of any installers delivering the devices configured as AP's..

So if theres a way to get these into AP mode, Id like to know how as well.. because the password I found doesnt work.