AP VLAN Tagging

Hi all,
I'm fairly new to OpenWRT, but am finding thagt it works well for me. I've got some Meraki MR16 APs that I no longer want to pay Cisco large sums of money to use every year, so I've flashed OpenWRT on one and am setting it up to mirror the config I had on the Meraki.
I've got Radius authentication working and multiple SSIDs, with different authentication methods. There are 2 things I can't quite get my head round though.

1. VLA1. N Tagging. I've read the Wiki page, but still can't quite work it out. All I want to do is tag traffic on a specific SSID with a particular VLAN ID, some SSIDs remain untagged. The downstream equipment then handles LAN segregation, DHCP, etc. It feels as if it should be simple, and I'm just being a bit slow, any help appreciated.
  2. Simultaneous 2.4 & 5GHz support. On the Meraki it appeared that the AP was running 2.4 & 5GHz simultaneously on a single SSID. From doing some reading, this may not really be true/possible. Is that what 802.11ac is about? If someone can set me straight on this I would again be grateful.

Thanks in advance to all those in the community who take the time to even read posts from clowns like me :wink:

My two cents:

1. I do not think you want to tag the wireless traffic, but bridge the wireless interface to an ethernet interface that tags external traffic.

2. Just use the same SSIDs on both the 2.4 and 5 GHz radios, and bridge them to the same network.

3 Likes

Thanks very much, but I need to tag traffic differently depending on the SSID they are connected to. You're correct in that it's the traffic going through the ethernet that needs to be tagged, as it's the downstream router/firewall that will make decisions based on the tag.

Thanks for the tip on frequencies, I'll give it a go.