Allowing DHCP/DNS but nothing else on the WAN interface

I'm new to OpenWRT, but not to networking/linux in general. I've successfully set up a Raspberry Pi 4 running OpenWRT with a Netgear GS305E managed switch providing four VLAN sub-nets - Green (LAN), Blue, Orange and Red (WAN). Green, Blue and Orange sub-nets have DHCP enabled and have access to the red sub-net. The red sub-net is connected to the internet via a BT Smarthub 2 that provides the red sub-net DHCP service and the WiFi for our mobile devices.

I've installed Adblock, which serves the Green, Blue and Orange sub-nets admirably.

So far so good, all live and functioning as expected, but I have a question....

I'd like to disable the BT Smarthub DHCP server and enable OpenWRT to provide DHCP/DNS services to the red sub-net so our mobile devices also benefit from the use of Adblock. At present if I do this it doesn't work, which is what I expected from the default firewall rule. I've googled this for a while but not found the answer. Can someone who is familiar with OpenWRT please describe how I achieve this, preferably with the Luci interface, although I'm quite happy to edit the config files if need be.

I'm very wary of experimenting as this is currently live in our home network and I can't afford to lock us out, especially the younger members of the family as my life would probably be in danger :frowning:

Regards
PaulM

Follow the instructions for the guest zone and the rules to allow dhcp and dns.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply. I've added traffic rules to allow WAN DHCP (port 67) and DNS (port 53) as per the instructions you suggested, disabled the BT Smarthub DHCP server and enabled the OpenWRT WAN DHCP server. A Raspberry Pi on the red sub-net, set as a DHCP client, doesn't receive a response when rebooted and defaults to a 169... local IP address instead of the IP address I've entered in the DHCP static leases table.