Advice on an upgrade (R7800+RT-N66u)

Hello,
I am looking for some advice on new hardware. I currently have:
-Netgear R7800 (Wifi5) acting as the router+ap (Just switched to Openwrt from stock)
-Asus RT-N66u (Wifi4) acting as a wired ap (FreshTomato)
-Internet speeds 950Mbps wired

Current observations:
-Wired speeds are good
-Wireless is OK as long as I am semi-close the the router (speeds 430-530 Mbps)
-Wireless coverage is OK across the whole house, but at the farther points my speeds can dip down to 80Mbps
-Stock firmware seems to offer better wireless speeds, but it has not been updated in 2 years and I worry about security vulnerabilities
-I have not optimized or done any tuning for Openwrt so I may be able to achieve better performance
-Of course the RT-N66u does not provide wireless speeds faster than 115Mbps (even at close range)

Things I would like:
-Modern/updated router firmware. I am new to Openwrt and lest say "more advanced" networking settings, but I can read and learn
-Second hardwired wireless ap (wire is already in place, POE is fine, I have a powered switch)
-I like the idea of a single SSID, mesh is fine, but I don't think I need more than 2 wireless APs
-Maybe Wifi6 or Wifi6E?
-I have been toying with the idea of using an old PC of mine as an Opensense router and adding APs...though I think it may be overkill

I have very briefly looked at Ubiquity, and TP-Link, but wonder if they are my best option? Can anyone help point me in a good direction? Should I just replace the Asus RT-N66u? Should I also consider using just 1 SSID (5g and 2.4) across multiple devices?

I appreciate the time anyone takes to read this, Thank you.

You haven't mentioned anything about budget ($$$) but as a first step you could get a gl-mt6000 to replace the aging n66u and set it up as gateway instead of r7800 and use that as a 2nd AP/ range extender.
Then you can start plying with single ssid and roaming.