Advice for setting up network (separate home/guest/iot)

Hi!

My first post here, I seek your guidance on setting up my home network the best way (new home owner).

I'm fairly new to networking but don't mind spending time learning/tinkering, I love learning new things!

This time I've hit a barrier and there are many new things to learn at once (and have had to reset/reinstall OpenWrt making mistakes :)) so I thought I could ask for guidance from more experienced people.

What I want to achieve

• 3 separate networks (home, guest, iot), both wired and wireless devices
  • Have the Netgear switch power the AC1200, cameras, and other future devices through PoE
  • A good stable base to build upon before adding many more devices

Devices in use

• Ubiquiti EdgeRouter X (OpenWrt 21.02.2 r16495-bf0c965af0)
  • 2 x Ubiquiti Unifi AC1200 (OpenWrt 21.02.1 r16325-88151b8303)
  • Netgear GS116PP Switch (unmanaged)

Current setup

• EdgeRouter X connected to modem on eth0
    • Netgear GS116PP Switch connected to EdgeRouter X on eth1
      • Unifi AC1200 connected to Netgear GS116PP (first floor) with one 5GHz wireless network
      • Unifi AC1200 connected to Netgear GS116PP (second floor) with the same network as above
      • Other devices connected to the switch (cameras, RaspberryPi, thermostat gateway etc.)

What works

• Internet access through wired and wireless work great as it is, there's just no separation setup between home/guest/iot devices.

What I have tried (and failed)

• Followed setup from OneMarcFifty: VLANs in OpenWrt 21 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qeuZqRqH-ug) for the EdgeRouter X. Couldn't get the guest and iot VLANs to have internet access. Got a bit frustrated, changed stuff I shouldn't have and managed to lock myself out (removed an untagged port that allowed wired access to router). Had to reinstall OpenWrt so I'm a bit more careful changing stuff right now (and not make changes when frustrated/tired :))