Adblock fine tuning

Morning all-
When i fire up my VPN service on my laptop, adblocking no longer works.
Has anyone run into this before?

Uhm, where is your VPN server: on your OpenWRT router or elsewhere in the world?
Also, what kind of adblocking are you using on your router?

3 Likes

(and where is your DNS and your client's DNS coming from when you connect to the VPN service?)

3 Likes

The VPN service is NordVPN. It's installed on the laptop, not the router. I haven't gotten bold enough to configure openVPN yet.

I am using Adblock installed on the router. I am not using Simple Adblock. I'm using Adblock 3.5.5-2
I'm assuming that once I connect to Nord, my DNS is pointing to the VPN and no longer the router and I need to somehow configure the route to include that?

I'll be honest; it took me days to figure out how to set up openWRT and adblock. I'm still learning networking and i'm not the sharpest knife in the block.

Adblock requires using DNS exclusively from your router.
So, edit the VPN client configuration on your PC:

pull-filter ignore "dhcp-option DNS"
pull-filter ignore "block-outside-dns"
# dhcp-option DNS
# block-outside-dns

However, beware of DNS leaks.

2 Likes

I haven't set up OpenVPN yet. I'm using a VPN service installed on my laptop, not the router.

Are those lines you listed something I need to add to a config file somewhere in Nord?

Correct, so if you connect to a VPN on your laptop (for security), then complain (or seek help) because your AdBlock on the router stops working - you should fix that by disconnecting the VPN (or using local DNS - exposing yourself to DNS leaks).

I hope you understand you have connected to a VPN, then expect DNS to leak to the router.

We [assume both you and we] are talking about the OpenWrt router, definitely not a VPN on your laptop you just mentioned (or rather, still referencing).

...but from searching, your answer seems to be yes (in this case).

1 Like