Adblock doesn't block ads

Good evening,
I installed the "adblock", "luci-app-adblock" and "tcpdump-mini" packages (for the DNS Report) and from the OpenWRT configuration page it seems to work correctly, as its status is "enabled" and shows 191,022 sites blocked. Despite this, browsing with my devices, I continue to view advertisements; nothing changes even if I restart the modem, clear the browser cache or restart individual devices. I have also used several websites that check adblocks are working correctly (https://d3ward.github.io/toolz/adblock.html) and I score very low (11% out of 100%). Do you know how I can solve? Thanks in advance. PS: if you have any questions I remain available (I am not very experienced with OpenWRT and I may not have explained myself clearly).

Open up a SSH session and enter: /etc/init.d/adblock status.

Copy the output and post here using </> above

DNS based adblocking can never be absolute, it reduces the number of ads and squashes some of the worst offenders, but it can't work as thoroughly as a browser plugin (which does see the actual decrypted content, rather than just well-known ad servers).

1 Like

Your point is well taken.

DNS based, browser plugins, custom blacklists . . . there is no panacea against this scourge so you do what you can.

1 Like

Please, give a URL referencing a non-blocked ad.
Be advised, that ads, which are "rooted" within a legitimate site, can not be blocked using Adblocks DNS-based blocking. I.e. https://cnn.com/anyadvert
can not be blocked. A browser-based adblocker, which sees the complete, decrypted page, is able to block this ad, though.

1 Like

What devices?
Apps can have hard-coded DNS settings, forcing you to capture and redirect the DNS calls in your firewall.

Chrome and Firefox have DoH enabled, and Android have DoT enabled on OS level by default.
You need to turn those off, or install Banip.