Accidently flashed the Linux kernel with minimal file system

While upgrading my Xiaomi Mi Router AC2100 to a new 21.02 version, I’ve accidently flashed (from the Luci web UI) the Linux kernel with minimal file system from OpenWrt Firmware Selector (https://firmware-selector.openwrt.org/?version=21.02.0&target=ramips%2Fmt7621&id=xiaomi_mi-router-ac2100)

How do I get an OpenWrt Luci web interface firmware image back in the router again, can anyone please help ?

Thank you so much!

I'm no expert but I guess you have to enter failsafe-mode and configure the client mode (sta) through cli. To enter failsafe mode you have to press the reset as soon as the power led blinks (after a fresh boot) and release when it blinks faster. You need to set your computer ip address to <192.168.1.2>, your net mask to <255.255.255.0> and your gateway to <192.168.1.1>, unplug your ethernet cable and connect with the new settings. You'll need to ssh (cli) into the terminal (powershell admin mode if you're in windows), input mount_root, enter.. passwd to input a new password ... then modify your settings in /etc/config to get internet connectivity. Openwrt has lots of helpful guides. Here's one to start with https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/troubleshooting/failsafe_and_factory_reset

Why would you need admin mode?

I guess I haven't tried without it before... so dunno, :sweat_smile: I'm on manjaro so I'm used to sudoing for most things.

Hello and thank you for your answer!

Unfortunately, the router enters rescue mode but I can't reach the device through ssh with root credentials (it times out). I've tried pinging the gateway 192.168.1.1 but I can't reach it.

Just an additional info, when I power on the router normally (without holding reset to make it go into rescue mode) the power light remains stagnant with yellow colour, it never blinks.

Any ideas on how to get out of this are more than welcome!!!

Thank you guys!