Access server via port-forward on WAN from LAN (R7800, NSS)

Hi,
I've been using OpenWRT for many years, but I recently bumped into an issue that I have a hard time figuring out what's wrong, it used to work before but now it doesn't.
I use a Netgear R7800 router, currently with Kong's build, but I also tried ACwifidude's build.
The issue is that I have several servers running on my local network, for which I have a port-forward configured in the router to access them from WAN, this works fine.
Only when I try to access the servers on the WAN-ip from a device in my LAN, the servers are unreachable. When I connect directly from the LAN device onto the LAN-server (not via port-forward on the router on the WAN-ip) I can reach the server.
This was always working correctly, but stopped working when I switched to the Kong build, or the ACwifidude build for the R7800. I need these custom builds for performance reasons, I have a 1gig up/down link which the normal openwrt releases cannot cope with (max up/down of ~500mbit).

I expect my problem has something to do with the firewall configuration, but I cannot find the right setting to change to get this working again.
Does anyone know what I need to change to get these servers reachable again on the WAN-ip's forwarded port from a device connected in my LAN ?

Thanks for any help,
Herman

1 Like

Search for "hairpin NAT" or "NAT reflection".

2 Likes

Hi, thanks for your quick response.
In the advanced tab for the port-forward rule I have a setting for 'NAT Loopback', that comes closest to what you describe.
I tried all possible settings (enable/disable and use internal/external ip address), none of the settings I tried did help :frowning:

Tying to investigate further, i've been looking into the fireware stats page and see these rules

with just below this rule the SNAT reflection rules for my server and also

with just below the DNAT rules for my servers