A5-v1.2, only 16MB RAM, how to manipulate SquashFS to free up some RAM?

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to LEDE, but have used OpenWRT a few times before. I'm having a spot of bother with a new platform I'm trying out.

It's an unbranded device superficially very similar to a supported A5-V11, but the silkscreen reveals it's actually an A5-v1.2 and has only 4M flash and 16M RAM. The stock firmware was not receptive of a stock LEDE 'sysupgrade' image, but it had an open telnet port so I was able to use wget and mtd tools to replace the bootloader with a prebuilt uBoot (the 128mb one from here: https://yadi.sk/d/ubSsjNZU34Xk2L) and then an A5-V11 image built from the current HEAD with default settings.

It boots up fine, but there isn't a lot of free memory unsurprisingly. The upshot of this is that it's not possible for me to use the sysupgrade utility as there is not enough spare RAM to take the new image. (Free reports less than 1M free once I have logged in.)

Would it be possible to pipe the image into mtd write via netcat or ssh, or would that be a bad idea?

I read that it's possible to free up more RAM by altering SquashFS block size. How do I do so?

I bought a bunch of these as they were offered very cheap (2GBP each), gambling on them being the same as A5-V11. Externally, the case is very similar. These are black, but have a textured finish to the top and bottom surfaces.

If I can, I'd like to try making a BATMAN mesh out of them.

How much of your precious lifetime are you willing to invest in making this device work?

No pun intended, it's just that I never understood why people are buying underpowered devices with just 16MB RAM, knowing that there is trouble ahead. I'm not saying it's impossible, but thinking of how "easy" things are with 32MB compared to 16MB, I'd ask myself if lifetime_spent_solving_problems vs. money_saved is in a healthy balance.