A noob with MONEY, battling buffer bloat HELP!

Hello everyone. I am new. VERY new and I have to become MORE THAN

an enthusiast FAST! Been on a quest to solve excessive

ping latency under load as my lively hood depends on it. Let me start by saying

I know NOTHING. I'm not a coder/programmer. TOTALLY NEW at networking.

So new I don't even know the right questions to even ask...

In the war against buffer bloat I came across Dave Taht and his YouTube lecture.

Approaching him via email, and telling him what I was trying to accomplish

he blurted out APU2 and OpenWRT....and that was it. I was left to now work on THAT

"mystery". I am not doing anything wirelessly and WILL never. I am looking for hardwired

solutions. Currently I have a 500D / 50U speed package from my ISP. I am connected via

a Motorola MB8600 DOCSIS3.1 "bridge" modem with 4 Ether ports on the back, only using

one at the moment directly connected to my PC with a Cat8 Ethernet cable with an RJ45

termination. I have a biz account so I have 5 IP addresses to make us of as well (for port bonding?).

I bought a cheap $89 Netgear Business 24-port Gigabit Ethernet Smart Managed Plus Switch

Model - JGS524Ev2 and I don't even know if I need it yet lolol. I know the WAN comes into my

modem, supposed to go then to a router, then to a switch? and on to my PC...and I "think" that's correct lolol. I might have bought the wrong thing. At this point I don't know. I do know that so solve my buffer bloat I need something / a set up involving a router and firmware that I can instruct to

"order packets" and keep them from bottlenecking. Right now I have a 9 - 11ms ping IF NOTHING ELSE is going on. Under load of activity it jumps to 396ms (in that area).

As I said, I have money / a budget. Its a biz expense so I don't have to skimp on CPU's or RAM

or anything... Someone with expertise of buffer bloat and hardware / networking please help

the new guy with more money than sense (at this point) lolol