A dashboard screen on local monitor?

hello, I'm looking to setup a openwrt on a raspberry pi and seen it can be done. But I was just curious about something. Sense I have a screen on my pi I would love to see a Dashboard on it the screen. Is this possible and If someone can please help me out with this? I'm not good at coding But I can follow any directions needed.

Joseph

The simple answer would be: no
The reasonable answer would be: no
If you have to ask for help, the answer is most definitively: no

Technically the sky (and your abilities) is the limit, but that's beyond reasonable.

--
Basically two options are imaginable:
a) writing a text based dashboard from zero, e.g. like the lcdproc based interface for the easybox 904xdsl
b) packaging x86/ wayland and a webbrowser, to display a dashboard in a kind of kiosk mode
both of these are 'possible', but require very substantial development work in the sense of months/ years.

2 Likes

No is the answer But I will still search around and maybe I can figure something out. Thank you for the reply back.

Joseph

You're certainly welcome to try, but you will not find anything. @slh is right, it is not possible by any practical means, unless you are running OpenWrt inside a virtualized environment on a host that has graphics capabilities. The main reason is that OpenWrt doesn't have any GUI capabilities at a all. It does not have the ability to drive a display for anything but basic text/console functions. And it most certainly cannot run a web browser (which is what is necessary for LuCI - the web interface for OpenWrt). You could always run another Pi or some simple/old device that has a reasonably modern web browser along side your primary OpenWrt Pi -- connect it to the monitor and you're golden.

Hello, Thank you all for the help. Sorry I could not respond back. I broke 3 toes of my left foot, Got ran over by a riding lawnmower. Thank you neighbor for that.