7620 driver issues

Hello.. I am no developer but after years of watching the 7620 driver being from shit to shit over several releases of Openwrt, why do you still publish the frimware it and waste my(our) time?

I apreciate the work but if you can NOT do it, take it off your list and don't waste our time and money investing on the routers you publish as "compatible" devices..

RANT OVER!

Because it's price...

Original 7620 drivers runs on totally outdated Linux kernel versions like 2.6.36.

And manufacturer didn't provide source code or updated driver for newest versions.

That's it! Blame them!

That open source implementation of 7620 is made from heroic forces of opensource devs.

3 Likes

Hi!I`m not developer.However, I also noticed that the driver is not all right. I think that if you described the problem, then maybe someone could solve it after some time.
The more detailed you describe, the better. This way you will do a good cause.

Regards, KlenKlenov.

Well devs are struggling to provide better open-source driver without manufacturer assistance/documentation.

So only one that need to be blame is manufacturer. If you stop purchase devices with that chip will be great for everyone!

3 Likes

Guys, I admire the "heroic" work done by the developers and blame noone. But the bottom line is that the 7620 chipset is basically not supported in Openwrt. Yes i get a Wi-Fi signal but the speeds are from 1970!! So why push a firmware that basically is of no use? Just dont push it out!

1 Like

You should try snapshot. It comes with up-to-date rt2x00 driver from Linux 5.4
Also you have to enable 40MHz band and Force 40MHz option in wireless setting for better speed
On some Android devices, 40MHz is disabled by default and you may need root access to enable it

Because it works well for some people in some environments.

4 Likes

How do I do that on Android?

re-opening this discussion...