5GHz: disabel DFS switching channels (not as bad as it sounds)

At our university where I'm a student, there's a rule that no non-university access points are allowed unless specific exemptions. We got such an exemption: we are allowed to have an access point, but we can only use channel 60 in 20 MHz bandwidth on the 5GHz band. We set the radio channel to channel 60 in LuCi, but one day got a very angry email, saying that our AP was configured to the wrong channel and was causing interference. Indeed, the config still said that it was on channel 60, but the channel of the radio interface was now channel (40, 44, 48? I don't recall). I learned that this might be because of DFS: if our AP detects radar signals, it moves channels, as to not interfere with the radar.

Is there a way to turn off channel switching? I'm okay if that means for example if that means turning off the radio for some time if radar is detected, but it should be absolutely avoided that the radio is switched to a different channel (the university WILL confiscate our AP if it uses the wrong channel). I'm looking for a technical solution, fighting the university on this will not work. Turning off DFS itself is not a good solution, since we don't want to interfere with the weather radar.

1 Like

Set option channels '60' (note that is channels with an s, not channel). This should cause the radio to shut down if radar is detected since no alternative channel is specified.

You may want to test this at an off-campus location first.

1 Like

Thank you for the fast answer! The config was:

config wifi-device 'radio1'
	option type 'mac80211'
	option hwmode '11a'
	option path 'platform/soc/a800000.wifi'
	option country 'BE'
	option legacy_rates '1'
	option channel '60'
	option htmode 'VHT20'

so it now becomes this, correct?

config wifi-device 'radio1'
	option type 'mac80211'
	option hwmode '11a'
	option path 'platform/soc/a800000.wifi'
	option country 'BE'
	option legacy_rates '1'
	option channel '60'