UF896 - Qualcomm MSM8916 LTE router ~384MiB RAM/2.4GiB flash, Android: OpenWrt?

Thanks for the firmware dump - I had bricked my UF896_V1.1 boot partition through an errant erase and now its working again.

1 Like

Sorry for a possibly silly question (I can dump firmware but not much use at more than that!):

With the progress being made by users, will this possibly lead to a functioning OpenWrt image (with SIM support) for this device or is it unlikely?

Im trying to compile Handsomemod version buts a whack-a-mole with errors, but im very new to this kind of stuff

I've added support for the UF896 based on the Handsome repo.

OpenWrt works so far, but the modem isn't working and I'm still struggling to get sysupgrade working.

Maybe I can push the fork later this week.

1 Like

Would be great because I have the UF896 im flashing the 1c version(the version from the chinese link works om my UF896, just no modem) right now lets see how it goes.

EDIT:
it boots, but a few problems with luci, no adb dont know why.

Like this?

And what do i do in EDL mode?

1 Like

Hey! Thanks for the inspiration and blog post! Yes, I think that's trick. If you plug in the device with those pins shorted, hold for 5 seconds and release, you should see the device appear as some Qualcomm device like so:

Bus 001 Device 006: ID 05c6:9008 Qualcomm, Inc. Gobi Wireless Modem (QDL mode)

This will allow you to use edl-tools (https://github.com/bkerler/edl) to do things like:

• wipe the boot partition
  • restore from a stock EDL dump (available earlier in this thread)

Both of those are useful in case you mess up userspace and lock yourself out. The build of lk1st available in the OpenStick repos does not properly wire up the reset button, and so there are scenarios where getting into EDL and doing a full recovery is required. It's suspected that this EDL trigger is in the Boot ROM so it should be a very reliable failsafe.