Hi !
I have a very positive post for every motorola user, (or everybody with a bricked router using intel flash StrataFlash J3 (those I think: 28F256J3, 28F128J3, 28F640J3, 28F320J3 )).
I have been fighting with my bricked router for last 7 months. My router has died when I was playing with NVRAM settings. I did the short pin trick but I have sent the wrong firmware and it never worked again. After that I was trying to bring it back to life using JTAG method but I only made it whose. I was not even able to erase any part of flash - I thought I burnt the CPU,  I gave up around january, but couple of days ago I found one interesting post from Craven.

So the trick is to add those patches from JTAG WIKI and then everything is going to flash real smoothly ( but maybe not too fast). My only problem was I wasn't really able to use the debrick utility with my linux so I have used knoppix- nice distribution - everything worked nice:)
I will just share some knowledge of things I have observed during bringing back the wr850g back to life.
I got a working CFE and NVRAM from Glenn form the openwrt forum ( once again grate thanks!!!!). I have edited the boot_wait=off in CFE.BIN  to boot_wait=on.
I have erased the NVRAM, KERNEL and I have flashed the NVRAM. then I have flashed the CFE. Voila! - the router has started responding for pings. Of course I had to unplug the JTAG first. Then using TFTP I put the original motorola's firmware. The openwrt firmware did not work - I don't know why. I had to upgrade to motorola's firmware 6.. to be able to flash the router with a bin file
Another thing I have observed:
LED signals:
All leds are on but there is no communication with the router:
  My guess that it has corrupted CFE.