OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: Disable Nat and use as a straight router

The content of this topic has been archived on 6 May 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

I'm a network admin admin and am in the process of designing a wireless metwork. (sort of like a cell net), and not a newbie to linux or embedded linux

I'd like to do the following.

1. have each node (ap) responsible for doling out a specific dhcp range (ok easy)

2. directly route all the node traffic to our centeral servers. (no nat just a direct route) the client IP needs to be at the servers (not the gateways)

3. The WAN is very big 255.248.0.0 (private space), any client IP in that range should be able to use any access point (regardless of where the IP came from) but it must be in that range...

4 sent the syslog to a remote server (simple)

The D-link ent AP (dwl1000ap) fits the bill, BUT it's not linux :0 and is $$$

Any thoughts appreciated

Use OpenWRT and a compatible ap and:

1. setup dnsmasq or udhcpd to give a different range of ip's on every access point.

2. setup the default route on every node as your central server. Edit the iptables rules and remove any lines which end -j MASQUERADE. Remove the wireless bridge (ifconfig br0 down followed by brctl delif br0).

3. Use  255.248.0.0 as your netmask on the wireless interfaces but have each machine only give out dhcp addresses from a small range. This way any AP will accept traffic from any ip in that range but will only allocate IPs in its specified range.

4. Use scp to send syslog every hour?

Or, if your AP can do bridging (linksys AP's do this if you disable dhcp, dunno about dlink):