OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: Port Forwarding Problem

The content of this topic has been archived on 19 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Hello,
I am trying to forward all port 80 traffic to an IIS server located at 192.168.1.3. I entered the following in /etc/firewall.user, but it is not working. I am new to Linux, so I am sure it is a syntax error. Any help would be appreciated.

### Port forwarding
iptables -t nat -A prerouting_rule -i $WAN -p tcp --dport 80 -j DNAT --to 192.168.1.3
iptables        -A forwarding_rule -i $WAN -p tcp --dport 80 -d 192.168.1.3 -j ACCEPT

TIA,
Jon

did you reboot or do a 'ifup wan'?
or re-execute /etc/init.d/S45firewall

I rebooted the router after making these changes...

Jon

You may try this:
iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -i $WAN_IF -p tcp --dport 80 -j DNAT --to-destination 192.168.1.3:80

in which $WAN_IF is what you find under 'nvram get wan_ifname', or the lan equivalent depending on where the html service requests come from.

Still no joy :-( ("nvram get wan_ifname" = vlan1). Here is my entire firewall.user file in case I have it all hosed up. It is pretty much the same one that came with OpenWRT with the two lines under the forwarding section added.

root@OpenWrt:~# cat /etc/firewall.user
#!/bin/sh
. /etc/functions.sh

WAN=$(nvram get wan_ifname)
LAN=$(nvram get lan_ifname)

iptables -F input_rule
iptables -F output_rule
iptables -F forwarding_rule
iptables -t nat -F prerouting_rule
iptables -t nat -F postrouting_rule

### BIG FAT DISCLAIMER
### The "-i $WAN" literally means packets that came in over the $WAN interface;
### this WILL NOT MATCH packets sent from the LAN to the WAN address.

### Allow SSH from WAN
# iptables -t nat -A prerouting_rule -i $WAN -p tcp --dport 22 -j ACCEPT
# iptables        -A input_rule      -i $WAN -p tcp --dport 22 -j ACCEPT

### Port forwarding